SLIG Scholarship for First-Time Institute Attendees

The Salt Lake Institute of Genealogy, sponsored by the Utah Genealogical Association, offers this full-tuition scholarship to any individual who has not yet attended an institute. Applications will be accepted beginning March 1, 2018. Applications are due June 1, 2018, and the winner will be announced June 30, 2018.

Any past institute participant will testify of the in-depth educational benefits an institute offers. Many consider an institute to be the foundation of their ongoing genealogical education program. But to the individuals who are eligible for this scholarship, the concept is a new one - a very unique,intriguing way to build a more solid foundation or to take their skills to the next level on a specific topic. Eligible individuals are probably not yet employed in the industry, or are working in a related non-research position; are most likely not advanced in their research skills; and might even be self-taught. Regardless of level of experience, they have a few things in common: they have not yet attended a national institute, and they are seeking for more in-depth educational resources.

Who May Apply

  1. Qualified applicants have not yet attended any of the national genealogical institutes: IGHR, GRIP, Gen-Fed, or SLIG.
  2. Participants withat least an intermediate level of research background and education.
  3. Participants must also have met any pre-requisites listed for the course selected.

What the Scholarship Includes

Applicants will receive full tuition toward the course of their choice for SLIG 2019. A reserved seat in the course of choice will be made prior to the opening of registration.

How to Apply

Applicants are asked to submit the following via email to the SLIG Director no later than June 1, 2018:

  1. A short essay (less than one page) outlining why you want to further your genealogical education.
  2. A statement (one to two paragraphs) indicating what you hope to gain from your first institute experience.
  3. A list of previous genealogy education programs or conferences attended.
  4. The name of the course you hope to attend, and why you have chosen that course.

Past Winners

  • 2017: Cheri Hudson Passey
  • 2018: Emily Kowalski Schroeder